Skip to the content

Clinical teacher of the year 2021 awards

Keele University School of Medicine has announced the winner of its ‘Clinical Teacher of the Year’ awards.

University Hospitals of North Midlands Hospital Dean, Professor Fidelma O’Mahony, presented the Clinical Teacher of the Year award to Mr Zeiad Alshameeri, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon and Trauma and Orthopaedic lead.  

The awards provide a valuable opportunity for medical students to show their appreciation for the teaching they receive while on placement here at UHNM. Students working across the trust are invited to nominate a teacher who has inspired, helped or supported them in their learning and development.

Dr John Oxtoby, UHNM Medical Director, said: “We are extremely proud of the contribution UHNM clinicians make to Keele Medical School, particularly over the last year as our lives have been so focused on Covid-19. During this difficult time they have made sure that our students have received valuable learning. Well done to all those involved in teaching whether or not you won an award!”

Dr Phillip Varughese, UHNM Deputy Hospital Dean thanked clinicians for going above and beyond during the pandemic to ensure that the undergraduate student journey and experience was rewarding for them.

Professor Fidelma O’Mahony, UHNM Hospital Dean, said: “Our Keele medical students have be appreciative of the teaching they have received at UHNM over this really challenging year. There is a real recognition of doctors going the extra mile to deliver teaching and to ensure that students' clinical learning is facilitated. Many congratulations to Mr Alshameeri and to all our nominees.” 

Back to top of page